Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Montlake ~ Attendance

Adams, Laura

Teacher-Elementary

ljadams@seattleschools.org

Ares, Ella

Counselor & 504 Building Coordinator

erares@seattleschools.org
Daniel Bernstein

Bernstein, Daniel

Special Education Instructional Assistant

dabernstein@seattleschools.org

Browman, Beau

Teacher-Elementary

bcbrowman@seattleschools.org

Chance, William

Teacher Instrumental Music

wdchance@seattleschools.org
Paula Eisenrich

Eisenrich, Paula

Academic Interventionist

pceisenrich@seattleschools.org

Faraday, Anna

Special Education Instructional Assistant

amfaraday@seattleschools.org

Gianfriddo, Heather

Occupational Therapist

hagianfriddo@seattleschools.org

Gingrich, Margaret

Teacher-Elementary

magingrich@seattleschools.org

Hodsdon, Sam

Custodian

dhodsdon@seattleschools.org

Hunt, Anny

Protected Health Care Room

ayhunt@seattleschools.org
Margaret Johnson

Johnson, Margaret

Teacher-Elementary

mmjohnson1@seattleschools.org
Cheryl Kerfeld

Kerfeld, Cheryl

Physical Therapist

cikerfeld@seattleschools.org

Lundgren, Jennifer

Director of the Visual Arts Department

jllundgren@seattleschools.org

Biography

Master in Teaching, Seattle University

,Personal Message

Overlooking the tall woods of the Arboretum and the nearly panoramic view of Lake Washington and Cascade Mountain Range rules the sunlight Art Studio of Montlake Elementary.  Our community believes that a vigorous art program is essential for all students and their ability to develop, grow and thrive. 

All students meet 2-3 times a week for 40 minute class sessions.  Units include drawing, painting, clay, sculpture (including paper mache, cardboard construction and sewing).  We explore relevant artists, both historical and contemporary, and challenge ourselves to make meaning of their work and lives.

Additional events that round out the art program at Montlake include:

Eat Real, Art Walk and Spring Concert Community Celebration happens only once a year-a grand outdoor party celebrating the best things in life, food, music, art and friends.  Listen to children play the ukulele, fall in to a food coma with tacos, ice cream and crepes.  Be amazed at paper mache pigeons, clay slugs and hanging fleece popsicles.  This is Art Walk-the greatest, most fantastical evening of the year!!  Look for neighborhood posters in mid May!

The Montlake Experimental Secret Arts Society is a guerilla arts group, with members in the hundreds now. MESAS meets weekly to discuss, create, share and install various art projects around the school campus and neighborhood.  They have participated in a fall and spring Lost and Found Fashion Show, issued counterfeit parking tickets, fortunes, letters to world leaders and dedicated their free time to making life more interesting for all. For this, we thank and salute them!

The Montlake Review is a quarterly publication produced from the massive quantity of doodles received in a submission box located in front of the Art Studio.  The Montlake Review, loaded with hundreds of original art, is carried at the Montlake Seattle public library branch, Seattle Art Museum gift shop (although due to high demand, rarely available), upcoming Museum of Museums (MOM) and finer little libraries throughout the neighborhood.  Behold!
 
Local School Art Exhibits:
The Greatest Hits, New Work by Montlake Elementary, Seattle Art Museum, January 2020
Introducing Myself, Montlake School Exhibit, Seattle Art Museum, February 2018
The Bureau of Arts and Culture, King Street Station, November 2017
Show and Tell, Montlake School Exhibit, Seattle Art Museum, November 2016
Small Plants Grow Up Through Concrete, Montlake School Exhibit, Seattle Art Museum,   June 2014



Marshall, John

Teacher-Elementary

jcmarshall@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

Hello!  I joined the Montlake team for the 2015-2016 school year, and have enjoyed becoming a part of this great, little community over the past couple of years!

If you are looking for specific information about what is happening in Portable 5, feel free to stop in any time or you can reach me by e-mail at: jcmarshall@seattleschools.org.

Thanks for stopping by!

Mattson, Joshua

Music Teacher

jdmattson@seattleschools.org
Geoffrey Miller

Miller, Geoffrey

Teacher/Bilingual BE

gbmiller@seattleschools.org

Patnoe, Cathy

Special Education Teacher

cjpatnoe@seattleschools.org

Pearson, Julia

Principal

jepearson@seattleschools.org